Article length: 93 words

Iran: Trump ends wavers oil

Secretary of state Mike Pompeo on 22 April announced the end of exemptions from sanctions for countries still buying oil from Iran. The Trump administration’s decision will end, from 2 May, the regime introduced last November, that allowed eight countries to continue importing oil from Iran. Three of them – Greece, Italy and Taiwan – didn’t import st all, but five did: China and US allies India, Japan, South Korea and Turkey. From 2 May, they won’t be covered by waivers any more, and could face US sanctions if they continue to import Iranian crude.

Go to full article
African Energy Gulf States Newsletter